Shopping Cart

Verve Records Official Store


Nina Simone

Recorded in 1982, not long after her relocation to Paris, Fodder On My Wings was reportedly one of Nina's favourite studio albums. She wrote the music and lyrics for all but one of the 13 songs – resulting in 12 new compositions added to her digital catalogue!
The album was originally recorded for the tiny Carrere label and only sporadically available since its initial release. Fodder On My Wings is a lesser-known but important part of Nina's musical history. It is a set of deeply personal songs including 'I Sing To Know That I'm Alive', 'I Was Just a Stupid Dog To Them' and 'Alone Again Naturally', a powerful meditation on her father's death.
Fodder On My Wings was recorded during a period when Nina was rejuvenated by her surroundings and the Paris music scene. Her band is comprised of primarily African musicians and features future Many Dibango/Salif Keita/Joe Zawinul drummer/percussionist Paco Sery.


1. I Sing Just To Know That I'm Alive
2. Fodder In Her Wings
3. Vous êtes seuls, mais je d'esire être
4. Il y a un baume à Gilhead
5. Liberian Calypso
6. Alone Again Naturally
7. I Was Just A Stupid Dog To Them
8. Color Is A Beautiful Thing
9. Le Peuple en Suisse
10. Heaven Belongs To You
11. Thandewye
12. Stop
13. They Took My Hand


Please note: This product does not contain a digital download.